Posted by at 8 February, at 14 : 07 PM Print

NEW YORK, Feb 8, 2010 – A senior government minister has praised the Grenada Independence Anniversary Committee of New York for their successful staging of activities marking the island’s 36th anniversary of Independence.

Finance Minister Nazim Burke, who represented the government at the Independence Gala and Awards Ceremony in New York on Saturday, said that the expression of support by so many Grenadians is an indication of the hard work of the committee.

“I want to commend the many Grenadians who continue to support the development of our nation. The committee is at the forefront of harnessing that spirit of patriotism and they must also be commended,” said Burke who also conveyed the Independence message from Prime Minister Tillman Thomas.

Consul General Derrick James also commended the work of the Independence Anniversary Committee describing the selfless service by members as extraordinary.

“I want to congratulate the members for their hard work and dedication in ensuring the success of these events,” he said.

The 11-member steering committee is headed by well-known cultural promoter Derek Ventour. His working team also included Yolande Scott (Vice Chair); Jean Taylor (Secretary); Constance Pitt (Assistant Secretary); Rudolph Cyrus (Treasurer); Raymond Layne (Assistant Treasurer); Ken Phillip (Financial Advisor) and members Dr. Barbara Gordon; Rev. Wesley Daniel and Cyril Sylvester.

The sub-committee members include Rev. Leopold Baynes, Kemron Dufont, James Herry, Ralph Jeremiah, Janet Johnson, Patrice Johnson, Robert Marecheau, Joan Nurse, Jennie Pascal, Olive Pascal, Marilyn Paul, Xania Pitt, Gloria Rennie, Margaret Williams and Pauline Williams.

The committee also received high praises for its production of a 94-page glossy 36th anniversary independence journal with messages, historical data and advertisements.

There were messages from Governor General Sir Carlyle Glean, Prime Minister Tillman Thomas, Opposition Leader Dr. Keith Mitchell, Foreign Affairs Minister Peter David, Ambassador to the United States Gillian Bristol, Ambassador to the United Nations Dr Dessima Williams, Consul General Derrick James, Independence Anniversary Committee’s Chairman Derek Ventour and US Congresswoman Yvette Clarke.

Local News

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

About Us

Spiceislander.com was launched in 1999 with the intention of keeping Grenadians and West Indians with up to date news, sports and information. In the early days we were able to serve thousands of West Indians with live Cricket from around the world. We continue to provide day to day information to the entire Caribbean.