WEST INDIES IMPROVE BY FIVE POINTS IN TEST TEAM RANKINGS

Posted by at 16 May, at 08 : 08 AM Print

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Following news from the most recent International Cricket Council (ICC) Test Team Rankings, West Indies has added five points to move to 75.

Although still in eighth place, Director of Cricket, Jimmy Adams says, “I’m happy that the effort of the squad in the recent Test series vs Pakistan has been recognized in the gaining of valuable ranking points. Our long-term aim is to strengthen, over time, all relevant aspects of our game and one yardstick to measure our success will be where we lie in the international rankings. Well done to the team on this achievement.”

India, South Africa, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka are the teams ahead of the West Indies.

The West Indies are now in preparation for International Home Series against Afghanistan, May 30 to June 14. Those matches will be three Twenty20s and three ODIs. Following that series, the home side will play five ODIs and one Twenty20 against India, June 23 to July 9.

The India series will offer the West Indies an opportunity to gain automatic qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Schedules

WI vs AFG

T20I

  • Tuesday, May 30     President’s XI          Warner Park
  • Friday, June 2         1st T20I                   Warner Park
  • Saturday, June 3     2nd T20I                  Warner Park
  • Monday, June 5       3rd T20I                  Warner Park

 

ODIs

  • Friday, June 9                   1st ODI                    Daren Sammy Cricket Ground
  • Sunday, June 11                2nd ODI                   Daren Sammy Cricket Ground
  • Wednesday, June 14         3rd ODI                   Daren Sammy Cricket Ground

WI vs IND

  • Friday, June 23                 1st ODI        Queen’s Park Oval
  • Sunday, June 25               2nd ODI        Queen’s Park Oval
  • Friday, June 30                 3rd ODI        Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
  • Sunday, July 2                  4th ODI        Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
  • Thursday, July 6               5th ODI        Sabina Park
  • Sunday, July 9                  T20I           Sabina Park

Cricket

Related Posts

Comments are closed.

About Us

Spiceislander.com was launched in 1999 with the intention of keeping Grenadians and West Indians with up to date news, sports and information. In the early days we were able to serve thousands of West Indians with live Cricket from around the world. We continue to provide day to day information to the entire Caribbean.